Keys Cares About the Environment. Click to learn more about the ways we're Growing Greener Every Day.
Links and Buttons Find us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! Watch us on YouTube! Home Power Advantage Sunshine State One Call of Florida

03/11/2005 ~ Keys Energy Services (KEYS) has an opening on its Advisory Committee for District Four, which serves Cudjoe Key to the Torch Keys. Advisory Committee applications are available in the main lobby of KEYS Service Building in Key West at 1001 James Street, and must be completed and returned by 4:45 pm on Thursday, March 31st.

“We’re anxious to find a new member for the Advisory Committee,” said KEYS General Manager & CEO Carl Jansen. “Much is happening in the electric industry and KEYS is facing many new and interesting issues.”

In 1998 the Board approved the creation of a five-member Advisory Committee, which was designed to provide the Board and KEYS staff with community input on various issues related to KEYS including generation, distribution, finance, customer service, and new ventures.

The Committee promotes public access to information on KEYS facilities, services, policies, and programs concerning energy, and considers the future energy needs of the community. The Committee also assists the utility staff by suggesting and reviewing programs and services.

The Advisory Committee includes five members, the Utility Board Chairman and two KEYS staff members. Community members represent five districts: Key West to Stock Island; Key Haven to Big Coppitt; Shark Key to Sugarloaf Key; Cudjoe Key to the Torch Keys; and Big Pine Key to the Seven-Mile Bridge.

Currently serving on the Advisory Committee are: Sandra Walters (District 3), Chairperson; Charlie Bradford (District 1); Henry B. Hamilton (District 2); Ted Hansen (District 5) and Doug Chapin (District 4), who recently announced that he would be stepping down from the Committee.

News Archives: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003