Keys Cares About the Environment. Click to learn more about the ways we're Growing Greener Every Day.
Links and Buttons Find us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! Watch us on YouTube! Home Power Advantage Sunshine State One Call of Florida

12/13/2007 ~ The Utility Board approved a Safety Training Participation Agreement with the Florida Municipal Power Agency* (FMPA) at their regular meeting on Wednesday, December 12th.

FMPA and the Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia (MEAG) have developed, and are now offering, a comprehensive safety and training program consisting of safety meetings, safety training, skills training, and other services for the benefit of FMPA’s member utility systems.

KEYS currently participates in a limited version of this program, and will now be taking part in the expanded program which will provide up to ten on-site safety and skills training sessions per year, access to other MEAG safety and training courses, and access to MEAG’s line worker apprentice training program.

“KEYS participation in this expanded program will create a safer work environment for our employees,” said Lynne Tejeda, KEYS’ General Manager & CEO. She added that KEYS involvement, “will potentially result in lower worker’s compensation insurance premiums, higher skilled employees, and improved employee morale.”

The regular meeting of the Utility Board took place at 5:00 p.m., December 12th, in the Louis Carbonell Board Room of the William Arnold Service Building, 1001 James Street, Key West.

* Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) is a wholesale power company owned by 30 municipal electric utilities. FMPA provides economies of scale in power generation and related services to support community-owned electric utilities. The members of FMPA serve approximately 1.9 million Floridians. FMPA’s members include Alachua, Bartow, Blountstown, Bushnell, Chattahoochee, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Gainesville, Green Cove Springs, Havana, Homestead, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Lakeland, Leesburg, Moore Haven, Mount Dora, New Smyrna Beach, Newberry, Ocala, Orlando, Quincy, St. Cloud, Starke, Vero Beach, Wauchula and Williston. Additional information is at

News Archives: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003