Keys Cares About the Environment. Click to learn more about the ways we're Growing Greener Every Day.
Links and Buttons Find us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! Watch us on YouTube! Home Power Advantage Sunshine State One Call of Florida

07/22/2011 ~ Members of the Florida Municipal Power Agency* (FMPA) re-elected Lou Hernandez, Chairman of the Utility Board of the City of Key West, as Secretary of the Board of Directors for 2011-2012 at FMPA’s annual meeting held today in Palm Beach, Florida.

Hernandez has served on FMPA’s Board of Directors since 2007 and this is his third term as Secretary. He has served on the Utility Board since 1997.

Other officers included:

Vince R. Ruano, City Manager of Bushnell, was re-elected as Chairman of the Board of Directors. Ruano has served on FMPA’s Board of Directors since 1985. This is his third consecutive term as Chairman of FMPA’s Board of Directors.

Paul Kalv, Electric Director for the city of Leesburg, was re-elected as Vice Chairman. Kalv has served on FMPA’s Board of Directors since 2007, and this is his third term as Vice Chairman.

Kevin McCarthy, Utilities Director for the city of Clewiston, was re-elected as Treasurer, a position he has held since 2006. McCarthy has served on FMPA’s Board of Directors since 2002.

FMPA’s Board of Directors makes all final decisions for the power supply projects of FMPA, except the All-Requirements Project. Each of FMPA’s 30 members appoints one representative to the Board of Directors, and Board officers are elected by popular vote of the members.

*Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) is a wholesale power company owned by 30 municipal electric utilities in Florida. FMPA provides economies of scale in power generation and related services to support community-owned electric utilities. The members of FMPA serve approximately two million Floridians. FMPA’s members include Alachua, Bartow, Blountstown, Bushnell, Chattahoochee, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Gainesville, Green Cove Springs, Havana, Homestead, Jacksonville Beach, Key West & the Lower Florida Keys, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Lakeland, Leesburg, Moore Haven, Mount Dora, New Smyrna Beach, Newberry, Ocala, Orlando, Quincy, St. Cloud, Starke, Vero Beach, Wauchula and Williston. Additional information is available on the Internet at

News Archives: 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003